Event #13: $1,500 No-Limit 2-7 Lowball Draw

Welcome to Event #13: $1,500 No-Limit 2-7 Lowball Draw

Daniel Ospina is the defending champion

The mixed game scene has already seen the mixed triple draw event crown its champion as Dan Zack found his way to his first bracelet. Draw players' attention now shifts towards the single draw variant with the coming days offering first the Event #13: $1,500 No-Limit 2-7 Lowball Draw, followed by the $10k Championship event.

The $1,500 tournament kicks off today at 3 p.m. PDT, and while there will simultaneously be a ton of action in other sections of the Rio Convention Center, there are a few good reasons to follow the NL 2-7 Single Draw straight from Day 1. First things first, the game itself is very dynamic and the no-limit aspect allows for an aggressive approach full of bluffs and gutsy calls. One street of discarding also adds to the pros; the hands conclude fast.

Players will start with 10,000 in chips and the initial blind level has been set at 25/50 with a 75 ante. The flow of the game is enhanced by the no-limp rule, meaning that the first player to open the pot has to do it with a raise.

The last decade saw all editions of this bracelet event attract a field in a range between 200 and 300 entries. Late registration will be open through the first eight 60-minute levels this year, so there is plenty of time to join the action. One re-entry per player is allowed during the registration period. Day 1 will navigate through ten levels, and the tournament will then continue for the following two days as the champion will emerge on Thursday, June 6.

The history of the NL 2-7 Single Draw event reaches back to 2002 when Norwegian player Thor Hansen topped the 111-strong field. The low buy-in version of the event then disappeared from the schedule for a few years, but the $1,500 edition was restored as a bracelet event in 2010. Since then, the tournament has been omitted only once (2013) and this year marks the sixth consecutive summer of the $1,500 No-Limit Lowball Draw featured among the official World Series events.

Come back at 3 p.m. PDT to follow the live updates from the opening phase of the tournament as PokerNews continues to deliver live updates from each bracelet tournament of the 2019 WSOP.

Previous bracelet winners in $1,500 NL 2-7 Lowball Draw:

YearWinnerCountryFirst prizeEntries
2002Thor HansenNorway$62,600111
2010Yan ChenUnited States$92,817250
2011Matt PerrinsUnited Kingdom$102,105275
2012Larry WrightUnited States$101,975285
2014Steven WolanskyUnited States$89,483241
2015Christian PhamUnited States$81,314219
2016Ryan D'AngeloUnited States$92,338279
2017Frank KasselaUnited States$89,151266
2018Daniel OspinaColombia$87,678260

Tags: Daniel OspinaFrank KasselaRyan D'AngeloSteven WolanskyThor Hansen