Event 14: $1,500 No-Limit Hold'em Shootout



Neighbours, Everybody Needs Good Neighbours

MarcC • Level 1: 25-25, 0 ante
Daniel Negreanu
Daniel Negreanu

Play got underway right on time. This is the poker world though, and such, is filled with poker players who are never on time. There are a lot of stacks being blinded away as they wait for their owners to turn up. Still there are some interesting tabled emerging already:

  • Team PokerStars Pros Daniel Nengreau and Jason Mercier have each other for company in the far corner.
  • Christian Harder, Shannon Shorr, and Mathew Frankland are situated at the table right in front of our desk.
  • Chris Moorman will need headphones to block out the ever chatty Rob Perelman.
  • Olivier Busquet, Stephen Chidwick and David "Doc" Sands make their table formidable.
  • Matt Wood and Team PokerStars Pro Barry Greenstein face-off.
  • McLean Karr will know all about European heavyweights Annette Obrestad and Davidi Kitai after spending a lot of time touring the European tournament circuit.
  • Two two Jasons, Koon and Sommerville, will surely lock horns at some point.

Shuffle Up and Deal

MarcC • Level 1: 25-25, 0 ante

Bill Brice, our TD in the Brasilia room, has made some announcements to the players and got this show on the road.

Today we will play as log as we need to reduce each table to one player. There is no balancing tables in this event.

Event 14: $1,500 No-Limit Hold'em Shootout
Tag 1 begonnen

Welccome to Event #14: $1,500 No-Limit Hold'em Shootout

Andrew Badecker looking to defend his title
Andrew Badecker looking to defend his title

Time flies when you're having fun! It seems like just yesterday that Event 1, the Employees event, kicked off and here we are today starting Event 14: $1,500 No-Limit Hold'em Shootout already.

We've had Mixed-Max tournaments and we've had Heads-Up tournaments that had a scent of shootout to them but today is the pure thing. Ten players will line up at each table today and only one will progress. Do the same thing three days on the trot and you have yourself a bracelet.

Here's a look back at previous year's winners:

YearPlayerPrize# of Entrants
2007Donald Baruch$264,107900
2008Jason Young$335,5651,000
2009Jeff Carris$313,673999
2010Steven Kelly$381,9271,397
2011Andrew Badecker$367,3711,440

Play is due to start at 12:00 PM local time. Join the PokerNews team back here then.